Leadership and Staff

The Society of Critical Care Medicine is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) scientific membership organization. The Society is governed by a group of 18 members called the Council. The Council consists of 13 seats, plus five members of the Executive Committee, which is comprised of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, secretary and treasurer. There are eight designated seats: Anesthesiology, Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacy, Emgergency Medicine, Internal Medicine, Nueroscience, Nursing, Pediatrics, and Surgery; one "collective" seat rotated among all other Specialty Sections, and six At-Large seats. 

SCCM President
The SCCM President serves a one-year term directing the mission and vision of the multiprofessional organization.

Council is a multiprofessional group of 18 critical care leaders steering the future of the Society.

Past Presidents
The Society thanks its committed past presidents who have helped shape the current organization.  

David J. Martin, CAE, is the chief executive officer and executive vice-president of SCCM.

Access a complete staff listing, including contact information on our dedicated Customer Service team.

SCCM Careers
Find opportunities to join our team and learn more about the benefits of working for the Society.