Norma J. Shoemaker

The Norma J. Shoemaker Award For Critical Care Nursing Excellence Award honors Norma J. Shoemaker, RN, MN, FCCM, the Society's first Executive Director. Norma Shoemaker's career as a critical care nurse and SCCM executive director spanned the decades during which critical care evolved into a recognized specialty. As SCCM's founding Executive Director, she played an instrumental role in nurturing the Society of Critical Care Medicine, which evolved from humble beginnings to a professionally respected, international multiprofessional organization. To encourage excellence in critical care nursing, and in recognition of Norma Shoemaker's dedication to SCCM and critical care, the Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence was established in 1992.

The award recognizes an SCCM nurse member who demonstrates excellence in critical care clinical practice, education, and/or administration. The recipient receives $1,000 in addition to complimentary registration to the Critical Care Congress and reimbursement fo airfare and hotel expenses in an amount not to exceed $1,500.

Deadline and Submission
August 1
Submission Form

Submission Requirements
One nomiation letter and two letters of support are required. Individuals must be nominated by an active SCCM member.​

The nomination letter must detail the nominee's contribution to critical care nursing excellence. This letter should validate the nominee's clinical, educational and/or leadership contributions relevant to critical care. The nominee's involvement in local,chapter or national SCCM committees or activities must be addressed.

Letters of support must be from SCCM Nursing Section members who are in good standing. Letters of support are preferred, but not required, upon submission of the nomination letter.

After the nomination letter has been submitted, the nominee will be contacted and asked to provide a resume or curriculum vitae.


The nominee must:

  • Be an active SCCM nurse member for a minimum of three years.
  • Have demonstrated commitment to SCCM through involvement in SCCM committees or activities at the local, chapter or national level.
  • Have documented attendance at a minimum of one SCCM Annual Congress during the previous three years.

 For more information, contact Carol Prendergast.